Skip to content

April recap

May 3, 2016

Before I dive into May I must report on how much fun April was.  I had a blast chatting live with Kori Miller on her Back Porch Writer Show, Friday, April 8. I revealed how the The Bewildering Adventures of King Bewilliam series came to be and pulled back the curtain on my writing process. You can listen in here (and stay tuned to catch Kori’s conversations with other authors who attended the Brain to Books Cyber Convention last month.

B2BCYCON 2016The Brains to Books Cyber Convention was amazing. I learned so much and made so many great new friends. I entered The Redoubt in the Cover Wars book cover contest and although it didn’t win, it did better than I ever imagined. I also entered King Bewilliam in a Character Tournament, a “bracket challenge.” He didn’t win but he did best his first “opponent” who happened to be the character penned by the author running the tournament. Both contests were entertaining ways to introduce the series to new readers. I also did a Facebook page takeover which was a lot of fun. I created several games for folks to play. For example, since King Bewilliam confronts many a fearsome beast, I gave people a chance to build one. Give it a try. What did you come up with?

Meanwhile I was also doing another writing marathon for Camp NaNoWriMo. I did meet my word-count goal which was to add the remaining chapters to the first draft of a thriller, Detour. I hope to have this book out by January, 2017, but meanwhile, here’s a peek at the cover. I got the idea for this story back in 1993 and I’ve been chipping away at it throughout the years. It’s really near and dear to my heart and I will be very happy to get it between covers and in readers’ hands. You’ll be hearing more about it in the coming months.

Another story that I’m sentimental about is Naked Came the Sharks. I am delighted to have been invited to be the featured author of a new book club in Rockport, Texas. I’ll be the guest at their May meeting and I am so looking forward to sharing the story behind this story. If you belong to a book club, why not suggest that the club select one of my books? I might not be able to attend your meeting but I can supply supportive material like bookmarks or a readers’ guide. Just let me know. 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

