Skip to content

Work in progress

August 4, 2014

Work in ProgressWelcome to the next stop on the Work-in-Progress Blog Hop. Thanks to Samantha Lafantasie for inviting me to do this. Last Monday, Samantha answered questions about her newest work and this week it’s my turn.

Yes, I know it seems like the ink is hardly dry on the newly released The King’s Redress but I do have a new work in progress. To answer the first question, it’s called Deadline. It’s a contemporary thriller.

The second question asks how this work differs from others of its genre and I’d have to say that the time in which the story takes place makes it unusual. It all happens in a little over a week during mid-February, 1993. That’s more than 20 years ago so maybe it’s not contemporary after all. It could be called a historical thriller because it does concern an actual event. Historical fiction also portrays the manners and social conditions of the peoople or times presented in the story, with attention paid to period detail. I have to laugh to think of 1993 as “history” and the story as a period piece. I’ll have to admit that although I lived it, it’s far enough in the past that even I have forgotten what it was like. I’m researching it as diligently as I have The Bewildering Adventures of King Bewilliam literary fantasy series that’s set in the Middle Ages.

Question Three asks why do I write what I do? Quite a few writers would answer that question the same way. I get an idea in my head and it won’t go away. I have to write it out or it will keep me awake. For example, a simple dinner conversation got me thinking about fishing, from the fish’s point of view. There was no way I was getting to sleep that night unless I jotted down the images dancing in my brain.

As for Question Four, the writing process itself, I begin with the idea for a story. Sometimes I know how it starts and I write my way to the ending. Other times, like with The King’s Redress, I know how it ends and I have to figure out what led up to that. I think about the characters—who they are and how they are likely to respond in a given situation—and I do some general outlining but the day-to-day writing involves making it up as I go along. I work best with a deadline (no pun intended) so I enroll in writing marathons and set daily word-count goals.

That’s the writing process in a nutshell. To see how some other writers work, I’ve passed along the Work-in-Progress Blog Hop questions to three others: Wendy Strain, Fiona Skye and Mike Daigle.

Having just given up a position as a full-time grant writer, Wendy Strain is re-dedicating herself to creative writing either by helping others or by working on her own ideas. She’s the host of two flash fiction contests designed to help you develop your mad writing skills – #5MinuteFiction (www.writeonwendy.com) to help you break through writer’s doubt and TipsyLit Prompted (www.tipsylit.com/category/prompted) where you can pit your work against other literary talents. I just judged a #5MinuteFiction contest. It was a lot of fun and definitely something to try.

Fiona Skye is an Amazon Top-100 best-selling fantasy novelist, currently living in the deserts of Southern Arizona. She shares a home with her husband, two kids, three cats, and a Border Collie mix. Fiona and I frequently take those silly Facebook quizzes and come up with the same results often enough that we think we may be clones of each other.

I’ve know Mike Daigle for decades. A writer for most of his life, Mike was a print journalist for many  years, starting at weekly newspapers in Massachusetts and Maine, and then dailies, in Maine and New Jersey. He’s now an online journalist, practicing the craft for digital news web pages, and others. His novel, The Swamps of Jersey, was just accepted for publication.

Check out their blogs to see what they’re up to and how they’re going about it.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

